Skip to content



We are a statewide early childhood leader driving change through partnerships to build an equitable, high-quality early care and education system that meets the needs of Minnesota’s families and children.


We work with integrity, honor diverse ideas and approaches, and foster a culture of respect and trust. We are child-centered and equity-driven.

Practical Vision


  • Access to high-quality, responsive care for all children
  • Highly visible programs and support
  • Equitably compensated workforce
  • Informed and supported profession
  • Creative recruitment and retention strategies
  • Innovative, accessible technology


  • Innovative early childhood leadership
  • Intensive and inclusive relationships
  • Responsive and equitable workplace culture

Mike Huber
Board Chair
Curriculum Coordinator, St. David's Center for Child & Family Development


Marlene Jehnke
Board Vice Chair
Early Learning Scholarship Administrator, Families First Minnesota

Marcia Schlattman
Board Treasurer
Program Manager, Milestones


Liz Kuoppala
Board Secretary
Executive Director, Mahube-OTWA

Brittany Clausell
Director of Early Education, Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe


Nicole Collins
Child Care Specialist, Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe


JoAnn Johnson
Professor and Chair CFS, St. Cloud State University


Juliet Lee
Director, Sleepy Tigers Chinese Immersion Learning Center


Hortensia Leon
Director, Jardin Magico


Margaret Mahowald
Director, Calvary Childcare Center

Lanay Miller
Senior Social Worker/Family Child Care Licensor, Chisago County Health & Human Services


Jodi Schneider
Owner, Jodi's Small World


Phyllis Sloan
Executive Director, La Creche Early Childhood Centers, Inc.


Maria Steen
Manager, CAPLP Child Care Aware


Jodi Wambeke
Early Childhood Manager, Willmar K12



Financial Statements